DAY 4 and 5: Beaches, Holes, and Getting Wet

I have accumulated exactly 26 mosquito bites in the last 5 days. Whether I will have any blood left in my body at the end of this trip is uncertain. Or I will become just one giant mass of swollen red flesh with glasses.

Okay, I’ll stop complaining. I’m on vacation, for goodness sake.

But if I get malaria, I’m going to complain like no other.

If you’re wondering why I didn’t write a blog post yesterday, it was because I was tired and didn’t want to. I also was not able to take many photos as we went snorkeling in a cenote, or sinkhole, while it was raining. Dark and wet do not make for good pictures. Here are some anyway.

Doing my best Gollum impression. I think I got the malnourished look down.
Doing my best Gollum impression. I think I got the malnourished look down.

 

Literally the best picture of us we were able to take that day. Told you I lacked good pictures.
Literally the best picture of us we were able to take that day. Told you I lacked good pictures.

After spending time in this particular sinkhole, we went back to Tulum to our AirBnb residence to wash up and rest.

Yes, this is the view from the balcony of our AirBnb. Who needs fancy resorts?
Yes, this is the view from the balcony of our cheap AirBnb. Who needs fancy resorts?

We went to a famous restaurant called El Camello Jr. to try their famous ceviche, a cold seafood dish that’s eaten with tortilla chips. It did not disappoint.

I can't get enough of Mexican food. Even if my innards can.
I can’t get enough of Mexican food. Even if my innards can.

Satisfied, we went back to the AirBnb to relax and get ready for a busy next day.

We woke up at a little before 7 to get to Ruinas de Tulum, or the Tulum Ruins, before too many tourists get there. I highly recommend doing this, even if you hate waking up early like me, because it gets absolutely packed and you can’t take pictures like these.

Being able to see the ruins with only a few people crawling around them is great.
Being able to see the ruins with only a few people crawling around them is great.

 

We found that it is also possible to visit during the sunrise or sunset, but it does cost significantly more.
We found that it is also possible to visit during the sunrise or sunset, but it does cost significantly more.

 

The Mayans sure knew how to pick a view.
The Mayans sure knew how to pick a view.

Afterwards, we headed towards Akumal Bay to snorkel and swim with the fishes. We had rented the snorkel gear the day before from a small shop towards the center of town. We’ve been using it all of yesterday and today, wherever we like, so it is definitely cheaper than renting some at each place. Although, straight up buying it might be the cheapest option in the long run.

You are also required to wear a life vest at Akumal Bay. It’s in order to prevent people from stepping on the coral reefs as that could damage them. Of course, this also means that the shops there that rent out snorkel gear make bank. Two birds, one stone.

DCIM101GOPROG0665211.
Unfortunately a lot of fish move too quickly to get a proper photo of them. At least, that’s what we told ourselves. So here’s a picture of my legs.

 

Yes, we swam with turtles. I love turtles.
Yes, we swam with turtles. I love turtles.

 

I got this sweet picture of a turtle surfacing for air though.
I waited 10 minutes to get this picture because they can hold their breath for so long.

Finally, to end the day, we went to yet another cenote. The water was extremely clean and fresh, so much so that it tasted better than the bottled water we were carrying around. I mean, sure it was filled with the filth of dozens of people, but still.

That is, dozens just for that day.
That is, dozens just for that day.

 

Chan probably contaminated the water for the next couple of weeks.
Chan probably contaminated the water for the next couple of weeks.

 

Just to be clear, it wasnt like I was just sticking my face in and gulping mouthfuls of water like a maniac.
Just to be clear, it wasn’t like I was just sticking my face in and gulping down mouthfuls of water like a maniac.

 

I used a cup.
I used a cup.

 

Off to find funnier jokes. Im disappointed in myself.
Off to find funnier jokes. I’m disappointed in myself.
You can leave a reply here if you want, I guess.

