Happy International Women’s Day!

I never take the time to appreciate the people who have influenced me throughout my life, so I thought that today would be the perfect day to do so. Here are the women who have made me the person I am today.

  • Harriet Tubman. One of the first female badasses I had ever read about. She wasn’t just an escaped slave, she was a disabled escaped slave who repeatedly went back to rescue as many people as she could at risk of capture and death. It’s difficult to find anyone, man or woman, who was as badass as her. I used her as an example in my SAT essays.
  • Mary Shelley. Writer of Frankenstein. It was one of my favorite books as a kid and brought me deeper into the wonders of sci-fi. If you haven’t read it, do yourself a favor and read it now. The way Frankenstein’s monster is portrayed in popular culture does not do the source material justice. I can only hope to someday write as well as her.
  • Mrs. Zapata. My 3rd grade teacher. She taught me that tomato can also be pronounced tomato and it doesn’t really matter in the grand scheme of things. She was incredibly energetic every day, even though we were a bunch of little shits like most kids are at that age, and loved to teach. Great teachers are hard to come by, but when you do, you remember.
  • Emma Watson. First celebrity crush. Well, I don’t know if she was the first, but she’s definitely the most memorable because I thought I actually had a chance with her. What, she’s only 2 years older than me. It could happen. And it’s good to know that I had excellent taste even when I was only 12 because she’s straight killing it now as a U.N. Ambassador.
  • JK Rowling. Writer of Harry Potter series. She’s basically the one who started Emma Watson’s career so I have to thank her for that. Also, the world Rowling created shaped my childhood as I’m sure it did for millions of people throughout the world. She also made me believe that it was possible to be a millionaire writer.
  • Natalia. First real crush. I swear this won’t all be about my adolescent love life. But this one was pretty significant because it lasted for years, even when I moved to Korea. Yeah, kind of pathetic now that I think about it. I joined track because of this girl and was literally the slowest on the team. And as it turns out, she ran long distance while I did sprints, so I didn’t even get to hang out with her. Man, I was such a creep in middle school.
  • Sarah Connor. Badass mother of John Connor. Sure, she was pretty much the damsel in distress in the first Terminator, but then by the time Terminator 2 comes around, she’s a fucking boss. She accepts her role as the mother of the leader of the human resistance, and trains herself to protect her son at all cost. That’s what I call a strong female character. No joke, Terminator 2 is one of my favorite movies and Sarah Connor is the best character in the entire franchise. I’m sure they ruined her in the latest movie so I didn’t even watch it.
  • My sisters. Because as much as they give me shit for being a dork, I know that they have my back. We’re all spread out across the country and I don’t see them nearly enough, but when I do, it’s like nothing has changed. It’s great to have people who simply let you be you.
  • My mother. Duh. She is one of my biggest role models and everyone should aspire to be a bit more like her. Kind-hearted, unintentionally hilarious and endlessly supportive, my mom has always been there when I needed her, all while taking care of my four other siblings as well. Now she’s a painter, pursuing her dreams at the age of 52. Yes, this is a plug. Because she deserves it. www.hyeoshin.com

There are plenty more women who have influenced my life, but this list is getting too long and I should post this before it gets any later. It’s already past midnight where I am so some sticklers might say that International Women’s Day is over and I shouldn’t appreciate women anymore. Well, fuck you guys, I’ll appreciate women whenever I want.

Although, you could also argue that this post is actually about me, because I’m just listing the women who influenced me. To that, I say…eh, you may be right. But it’s my blog, so too bad. I’m a sexist pig.

And with that note, I’ll be signing off! I’ll put up a list of the men who influenced me some other time. Maybe on International Men’s Day. So, like on a Tuesday or something.

Happy International Women’s Day!

 

 

P.S. Also, I hope Natalia doesn’t read this because that would be embarrassing. (Psst, call me.)

You can leave a reply here if you want, I guess.

