Awkward Transitions

Before I say anything else, yes, I do realize that it’s been 3 weeks since spring break ended and that I haven’t written anything since then, even about my last day in Ecuador.
But hey, better late than never, right? Right guys? Guys? I’M SORRY, OKAY?!
…I’m going to assume that some of you are still reading this and move on.

On our last day in Banos, Ecuador, Chan and I decided to visit the famous Casa Del Arbol, or the Swing at the End of the World. Unfortunately, it was cloudier than miso soup that day, so we weren’t able to experience the breath-taking view at the top of the mountain. Instead, it felt like we were swinging off the mountainside into oblivion.

IMG_0447
Have you watched The Mist? Felt kind of like that.
IMG_0483
Except nobody died. Besides the two Canadians.

Clearly, I was the better photographer. Look at that use of white space. There’s so much white space, it almost feels like Boston College.
Yeah, I pulled a race joke out of my ass. I’m allowed to do that.

Fun fact: “banos” is the Spanish word for “baths.” The reason the town is called Banos is because the citizens of Banos have always been incredibly progressive in terms of hygiene compared to the rest of the world. While everyone else was following the logic of an annoyingly bright 5-year-old by thinking, ‘What’s the point of brushing my teeth if I’m going to eat later anyways?’ the people of Banos believed that having a clean body was indicative of a healthy mind. There were rumors that many of the initial residents of the town had OCD due to a genetic anomaly, but was later proven to be untrue. As a result of this focus on staying clean, the bath culture in the community developed to the point where every house in the town would have a bathtub, which was an object of fascination (and sometimes derision) for visitors and tourists. More and more people started calling the town Banos and that eventually was officially adopted as the town name. Some of the oldest bath salts that are still used today were developed here and everything that I wrote in this paragraph, I just made up completely. Like utter bullshit. You just wasted several minutes of your time reading sheer nonsense.
I think I just alienated all the rest of my readers. I’m so sorry.
Okay, so here’s the actual truth. The reason the town is called Banos is because of the famous volcano-powered mineral springs that are located in various places around the city. (The only thing that wasn’t a lie in the paragraph above is that banos means baths.) I think I’ve mentioned in a previous post that there’s an active volcano right next to Banos and it is that same volcano that heats the water in the baths. It’s a natural spring which is why the water looks like de-carbonated Mountain Dew, but it’s actually very clean. Or as clean as any hot spring that sees hundreds of people stepping in and out of it all day. Luckily, there is a place to shower, which is required of anyone who wishes to enter the baths. And that shower is water from the nearby waterfall. Pretty cool, eh?
Not as cool as the way the waterfall was formed, though. So the volcano I talked about was also home to one of the last dragons in the world and–
Sorry, force of habit. Hey, you’re the ones who fell for my lies. What the hell is a genetic anomaly anyways?
Okay, moving on.

IMG_20150309_152216743
Thank the dragons for this.
IMG_20150309_152229089
Thank me for this.

After all of that, we finally took a bus to Quito and took a plane back to Boston. Not much more to say about that other than it was long and tiring. I still hate how cold it is here.

AND NOW, HERE COMES THE AWKWARD PART.

Like I said in my first post on this blog, this was not meant to be a travel blog. It just so happened that I was traveling when I started it. However, since I am not traveling anymore, this will turn into a blog about me just writing about my own thoughts. I promise it’ll probably be just as entertaining, but also more real. So if you fake, you won’t like this blog anymore.
I’m kidding. I love all my readers. Don’t leave me.
And with that, I will end this post. For those who aren’t interested in non-travel posts, thank you for reading! For those who want to continue reading my blog, you should talk to a psychiatrist. But also thank you. Until next time!

 

 

One thought on “Awkward Transitions

You can leave a reply here if you want, I guess.

